Ana içeriğe geç

Eşyalarını Tamir Et

Onarma Hakkı

Mağaza

Yardım

Education & Aspirations

I am currently a first year student at Grand Valley State University, majoring in Psychology with a minor in writing. While I do not know for certain which career I plan to have someday, I do know what its most important characteristic will be: it must involve helping people! Because of the pandemic, I have been off campus, but I hope to join several clubs next fall!

Projects/Accomplishments

I have always been an outgoing person, a leader, and a heavily involved member of my community. In high school, I was involved in two sports, several clubs, and completed over one hundred hours of volunteering. As a creative thinker, I take on every opportunity that allows me to share my creations with others.

For instance, my senior year I ran a small scrunchie business within my school and local community, selling homemade scrunchies at affordable costs. With every season came new patterns and themes. It was such a big hit that it even made the school paper, and a couple clubs had me make matching ones for their uniforms!

Block Image

Additionally, last march when the pandemic began, I made homemade cotton masks for my community. I called this fundraiser “Masks with Meaning” because rather than making masks for a profit, I asked customers to make a donation of any amount, either monetary or food products. All donations were given to our local food pantry. I raised over $700 and collected over 50 food items in just the first week alone.

Block Image
Block Image

Another instance in which I put my crafty skills on display was at the IL state floral design competition in 2019, where I placed 5th. From making corsages for other students, wreaths for family, and table arrangements for different school events, I was hard at work.

Block Image
Block Image
Block Image

While my sewing skills and floral design abilities show that I am creative, my academic achievements show that I am also intelligent and quick on my feet. I was one of the top 10 students in my class of over 600, always striving to succeed in any course or task thrown my way. Now, I look forward to expanding both my knowledge and my creative thinking through IFIXIT!

Repair Experience

I have not had much experience repairing items. I am quick to search online for helpful guides when things stop working, but when that fails, I tend to improvise in any way possible. That being said, I am excited to see the creative repair manuals on IFIXIT from fellow members and do my part to contribute to the community too!